Despite what food labels claim, food ingredients are often not one hundred percent genuine. Even ‘pure apple juice’ and ‘pure cider’ which claim ‘no artificial ingredients or additives’ may not be kosher products. Apple juice is a good example of a natural product being adversely impacted by modern food technology. Thus we have a need for a more intensive exploration.
Not as pure as it looks
‘Pure apple juice’ generally contains extracts from the non-kosher animal such as skin, cartilage, bone and meat gelatin (gelatin). Gelatin in apple juice is used to remove pectin, which makes the juice look more clear. Pectin is combined with gelatin and filtered out of the juice. But filtration methods used can cause problems to being kosher, such as if the juice is heated before filtration. Even ‘mixed juice’ may looks like it does not add any clarifying agent, but sometimes this is not the case. In actuality, gelatin that has been added to make the juice look ‘natural’ may not have been completely been filtered out.
In addition, the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) recently approved a large number of food coloring, Many of these are natural pigments, including those extracted from insects and although it may be purely ‘natural’, it does not belong to the scope of kosher. Some nutritional supplements, such as protein, amino acids or vitamins, may also be non-kosher, or will cause food to become dairy frangipani. For example, the addition of a certain type of protein or dairy products to tuna will cause it to be non-kosher. When purchasing tuna, be sure to confirm that it has a credible kosher certification. Customers must carefully check the list of ingredients to ensure that tuna products do not contain dairy products ingredients. Sometimes, we need to have kosher dairy certification, such as the printed ‘D’ logo, but not all dairy products have this.
It is crucial to keep abreast of relevant Kosher news and developments. This is more important than ever today because changes in kosher supervision and kosher products occurs almost daily. The danger is when consumers are misled by these changes. For example, food manufacturers may change the ingredients of a product, but still use the original kosher symbol. Kosher certificates that were issued in the past are often canceled, or a new one is issued. Furthermore, lists of ingredients on product labels and product errors sometimes occur.
Consumers who keep kosher can also stay vigilant by contacting Kosher regulators for information and subscribing to magazines and newsletters issued by kosher authorities.