Baked goods

By wzq

All baked foods must have a reliable kosher certificate issued by the relevant authority or Commission.

In addition, holders of a reliable kosher certificate for Jewish breads, cakes or other baked foods are also encouraged to ensure that these foods are pas Yisrael, or literally “Bread of an Israelite”.  These are foods that are baked baked by a Jewish person or with a Jewish person’s assistance, even if he simply starts the oven or grill.

Goods that are baked entirely by non-Jews are called pas akum and should not be eaten. In some cases, where the non-Jewish bakery uses kosher ingredients these baked goods are edible. This bread is called pas palter. Edible pas palter prerequisites: 1) a bakery must be under supervision of a reliable Rabbi who will ensure that the ingredients, utensils and food contact are in line with the provisions of kosher; 2) you are unable to obtain bread that is pas Yisrael. Note: Many baked goods with packaging sold in supermarkets, even if they are certified as kosher products, are actually pas palter.

In certain situations, due to religious reasons, Jews are not permitted to eat pas palter. For example, during the Jewish New Year (Rosh Hashanah) until the day of Atonement (Yom Kippur). It is important to be aware that a Kosher certificate on the packaging of a baked product does not mean that it is pas Yisrael, unless specifically marked as pas Yisrael food.

Note: Baked items for sale often contain milk or bread and milk-related ingredients; carefully review the product label. If the bread contains milk, even if you are certain it is a kosher product, there will still be a lot of issues and consultation with a Rabbi is recommended.